NASA/IPAC EXTRAGALACTIC DATABASE
Date and Time of the Query: 2019-08-24 T00:02:32 PDT
Help | Comment | NED Home

For refcode 2000ApJ...532.1124M:
Retrieve 2 NED objects in this reference.
Please click here for ADS abstract

NED Abstract

Copyright by American Astronomical Society. Reproduced by permission
2000ApJ...532.1124M Radio Observations of SN 1979C: Evidence for Rapid Presupernova Evolution Marcos J. Montes Naval Research Laboratory, Code 7212, Washington, DC 20375-5320; montes@rsd.nrl.navy.mil Kurt W. Weiler Naval Research Laboratory, Code 7213, Washington, DC 20375-5320; weiler@rsd.nrl.navy.mil Schuyler D. Van Dyk Infrared Processing and Analysis Center/California Institute of Technology, Mail Code 100-22, Pasadena, CA 91125; vandyk@ipac.caltech.edu Nino Panagia Space Telescope Science Institute, 3700 San Martin Drive, Baltimore, MD 21218; panagia@stsci.edu Christina K. Lacey Naval Research Laboratory, Code 7213, Washington, DC 20375-5320; lacey@rsd.nrl.navy.mil Richard A. Sramek P.O. Box 0, National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Socorro, NM 87801; dsramek@nrao.edu and Richard Park Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, VA; rpark@mit.edu Received 1999 June 2; accepted 1999 November 18 ABSTRACT We present new radio observations of the supernova SN 1979C made with the Very Large Array (VLA) at 20, 6, 3.6, and 2 cm from 1991 July to 1998 October, which extend our previously published observations (Weiler et al.), which began 8 days after optical maximum in 1979 April and continued through 1990 December. We find that the radio emission from SN 1979C has stopped declining in flux density in the manner described by Weiler et al. and has apparently entered a new stage of evolution. The observed "flattening," or possible brightening, of the radio light curves for SN 1979C is interpreted as due to the supernova shock wave entering a denser region of material near the progenitor star and may be indicative of complex structure in the circumstellar medium established by the stellar wind from the red supergiant (RSG) progenitor. Subject headings: radio continuum: stars-shock waves-stars: evolution- supernovae: individual (SN 1979C)
Retrieve 2 NED objects in this reference.
Please click here for ADS abstract

Back to NED Home