NASA/IPAC EXTRAGALACTIC DATABASE
Date and Time of the Query: 2019-03-21 T02:41:51 PDT
Help | Comment | NED Home

For refcode 2000ApJ...545..190I:
Retrieve 69 NED objects in this reference.
Please click here for ADS abstract

NED Abstract

Copyright by American Astronomical Society. Reproduced by permission
2000ApJ...545..190I Testing the AGN-Starburst Connection in Seyfert Galaxies Valentin D. Ivanov, George H. Rieke, Christopher E. Groppi, Almudena Alonso-Herrero, Marcia J. Rieke, and C. W. Engelbracht Steward Observatory, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ 85721; vdivanov@as.arizona.edu, grieke@as.arizona.edu, cgroppi@as.arizona.edu, aalonso@as.arizona.edu, mrieke@as.arizona.edu, cengelbracht@as.arizona.edu Received 2000 April 11; accepted 2000 July 27 ABSTRACT We use the CO band at 2.3 microns to constrain the populations of young stars in the central regions of Seyfert galaxies. We report new CO band spectroscopy of 46 Seyfert galaxies. In most cases, the observed CO indices appear diluted by the presence of a nonstellar component (most likely, warm dust surrounding the active nucleus). We used JHKL aperture photometry to estimate the nonstellar contribution at 2.3 microns. We successfully corrected the CO band for the dilution for 16 galaxies which were not dominated by the nonstellar component. Comparing with CO indices measured in elliptical and purely starbursting galaxies, we find no evidence for strong starbursts in the majority of these galaxies. Subject headings: galaxies: nuclei-galaxies: Seyfert-galaxies: starburst- infrared: galaxies
Retrieve 69 NED objects in this reference.
Please click here for ADS abstract

Back to NED Home