NASA/IPAC EXTRAGALACTIC DATABASE
Date and Time of the Query: 2019-03-24 T08:53:12 PDT
Help | Comment | NED Home

For refcode 2001ApJ...560..566K:
Retrieve 4192 NED objects in this reference.
Please click here for ADS abstract

NED Abstract

Copyright by American Astronomical Society. Reproduced by permission
2001ApJ...560..566K The K-Band Galaxy Luminosity Function C. S. Kochanek, M. A. Pahre, E. E. Falco, J. P. Huchra, and J. Mader Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, 60 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138; ckochanek@cfa.harvard.edu, mpahre@cfa.harvard.edu, efalco@cfa.harvard.edu, jhuchra@cfa.harvard.edu, jmader@cfa.harvard.edu T. H. Jarrett, T. Chester, and R. Cutri Infrared Processing and Analysis Center, MS 100-22, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA 91125; jarrett@ipac.caltech.edu, tchester@ipac.caltech.edu, roc@ipac.caltech.edu and S. E. Schneider Department of Astronomy, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003; schneider@messier.astro.umass.edu Received 2000 November 22; accepted 2001 June 13 ABSTRACT We measured the K-band luminosity function using a complete sample of 4192 morphologically typed 2MASS galaxies with {mu}_K_s__ = 20 mag arcsec^-2^ isophotal magnitudes 7 < K_20_ < 11.25 mag spread over 2.12 sr. Early-type (T <= -0.5) and late-type (T > -0.5) galaxies have similarly shaped luminosity functions, {alpha}_e_ = -0.92 +/- 0.10 and {alpha}_l_ = -0.87 +/- 0.09. The early-type galaxies are brighter, M_K*e_ = -23.53 +/- 0.06 mag compared to M_K*l_ = -22.98 +/- 0.06 mag, but less numerous, n_*e_ = (0.45 +/- 0.06) x 10^-2^ h^3^ Mpc^-3^ compared to n_*l_ = (1.01 +/- 0.13) x 10^-2^ h^3^ Mpc^-3^ for H_0_ = 100 h km s^-1^ Mpc^-1^, such that the late-type galaxies slightly dominate the K-band luminosity density, j_late_/j_early_ = 1.17 +/- 0.12. Including a factor of 1.20 +/- 0.04 correction for the conversion of the isophotal survey magnitudes to total magnitudes, the local K-band luminosity density is j = (7.14 +/- 0.75) x 10^8^ h L_sun_ Mpc^-3^, which implies a stellar mass density relative to critical of {OMEGA}_*_h = (1.9 +/- 0.2) x 10^-3^ for a Kennicutt initial mass function (IMF) and {OMEGA}_*_h = (3.4 +/- 0.4) x 10^-3^ for a Salpeter IMF. Our morphological classifications are internally consistent, are consistent with previous classifications, and lead to luminosity functions unaffected by the estimated uncertainties in the classifications. These luminosity functions accurately predict the K-band number counts and redshift distributions for K <~ 18 mag, beyond which the results depend on galaxy evolution and merger histories. Subject headings: cosmology: observations - galaxies: distances and redshifts - galaxies: luminosity function, mass function - surveys
Retrieve 4192 NED objects in this reference.
Please click here for ADS abstract

Back to NED Home